Links to Resources

A basic guide to sites and groups actively linked to disability culture, disability arts, training, access services, arts services and the performing & media arts.

Professional Arts Service Organizations:

Creative Trust www.creativetrust.ca

Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) www.tapa.ca

Theatre Ontario www.theatreontarioorg

Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) www.pact.ca

Playwrights Guild of Canada www.playwrightsguild.com

Small Theatre Administrative Facility (STAF) www.theatreadmin.com

Dance Umbrella of Ontario (DUO) www.danceumbrella.net

Canadian Actors Equity Association (CAEA) www.caea.com

Canadian Artists Presenting Association (CAPACOA) www.capacoa.ca

Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA) www.actra.ca

Toronto Association of Acting Studios (TASS) www.torontoactingatudios.com

Canadian Actors Online (Talent Agents) www.canadianactor.com

The Artists’ Health Care Centre Foundation (AHCI) www.ahcf.ca

Film including International Organizations/Festivals

Trinity Square Video www.trinitysquarevideo.com

Toronto International Deaf Film and Arts Festival

FilmPRO: Film PRO links with 90% of the international disability arts film festivals in operation see: www.filmpro.net

Deaffest (UK) from across the UK and overseas. www.deaffest.co.uk/Deaffest/HOME.html

Emotion Pictures (Greece), the 1st International Documentary Festival on Disability Athens. www.ameamedia.gr/en/festival

Brazil’s International Disability Film Festival www.assimvivemos.com.br

Key Arts Funding Agencies

Toronto Arts Council (TAC) www.torontoartscouncil.org

Ontario Arts Council (OAC) www.arts.on.ca

Canada Council for the Arts www.canadacouncil.ca

Ontario Trillium Foundation www.trilliumfoundation.org

Laidlaw Foundation www.laidlawfdn.org

Metcalf Foundation www.metcalffoundation.com

Department of Canadian Heritage www.canadianheritage.gc.ca

Key Peforming Arts Festivals/Presenters

The Fringe of Toronto Theatre Festival www.fringetoronto.com

SummerWorks Festival www.summerworks.ca

Harbourfront Centre/HATCH www.harbourfrontcentre.com

CANDANCE (the Canadian Network of Dance Presenters / le réseau canadien des diffuseurs de danse) www.candance.ca

Fado Performamce Inc ccca.finearts.yorku.ca/fado

PCC (Performance Creation Canada) www.performancecreationcanada.ca

Association of Performing Arts Presenters www.artspresenters.org

APASO www.americaperforms.com/aboutapaso.html

Disability-Related Services

Christine Karcza Consulting,  ‘I Can Do This”  www.icandothis.ca

Voiceprint Canada www.voicprintcanada.com

Panorama Captioning Services carrie.oneill@panoramacaptioning.com

George Brown College ASL Training Programs www.gbrownc.on.ca

The Canadian Hearing Society www.chs.ca

CNIB www.cnib.ca

Canadian Abilities Foundation/STRETCH www.abilities.ca

Eyes on Camera (EOC) email: eyesoncamera@yahoo.ca

Disability Arts & Culture Programming

Abilities Festival www.abilities.ca

Workman Arts www.workmanarts.com

The Glenvale Players www.glenvaleplayers.org

Fireweed Media Productions Inc. peuromaki@aol.com

Ryerson School of Disability Studies www.ryerson.ca/ds

Ryerson RBC Institute for Disability Studies, Research and Education www.ryerson.ca/ds

Creative Spirit Arts Centre www.creativespirit.on.ca

Society for Disability Arts and Culture, Vancouver ( S4DAC) www.s4dac.org

Canadian Disability Arts and Culture Network, Calgary www.stage-left.org

Anna MacLean, dance/theatre/healing practices  www.dancefoodforthesoul.com

Links to International Organizations

United Kingdom

SHAPE Arts www.shapearts.org.uk

Graeae Theatre www.graeae.org

Artsline www.artsline.org.uk

London Disability Arts Forum (LDAF) www.ldaf.org

USA

VSA Arts (originally Very Special Arts www.vsarts.org

The National Endowment for the Arts http://arts.endow.gov/index.html

National Arts and Disability Center http://nadc.ucla.edu

The International Center on Deafness and the Arts (ICODA) www.icodaarts.org

Theatre Development Fund, New York www.tdf.org

Australia

Arts Access SA www.artsaccess-sa.org.au

Disability Arts Advocacy Project 2007 www.artsaccess-sa.org.au/projects.htm

High Beam Festival www.artsaccessaustralia.org/highbeam.htm

Back to Back Theatre www.backtobacktheatre.com

The Adelaide Festival Centre www.adelaidefestivalcentre.com.au

Club Cool www.artsaccess-sa.org.au/clubcool.htm

Sweden

Tyst Teater of the Deaf, Sweden www.tystteater.riksteatern.se

%d bloggers like this: